Previous editions Previous editions

VI Competition (1960)

VI Competition (1960)

VI Competition (1960)


Termin: 22 February - 13 March 1960

Attended by 77 pianists from 25 countries. The jury assessed the artistic interpretation of each participant according to similar principles to those used in 1955. From this particular Competition onwards, separate points were given not only for the performance of the mazurkas but also for a polonaise which also had a special prize.

Prize I - Maurizio Pollini (Italy)

Prize II - Irina Zaritskaya (USSR)

Prize III - Tania Achot-Haroutounian (Iran)

Prize IV - Li Min-Chan (China)

Prize V - Zinayda Ignatyeva (USSR)

Prize VI - Valeri Kastelsky (USSR)

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance of the mazurkas went to Irina Zaritskaya

The Fryderyk Chopin Society Prize for the best performance of a polonaise was awarded to Irina Zaritskaya

Honourable mention:
Alexander Słobodyanik (USSR), Jerzy Godziszewski (Poland)), Józef Stompel (Poland), Michel Block (Mexico), Hitoshi Kobayashi (Japan), Reiya Silvonen (Finland)